First Ever Story Sale

My short story, ‘Studying Shakespeare’, has been bought and published by Silver Pen/Youth Imagination Magazine.

YouthImagination-logo1

http://www.youthimagination.org/index.php/publish/current-issue/issue-10-feb-2014/item/77-studying-shakespeare-by-b-lee-draper

I’m pretty excited about this as it’s the first story I’ve been paid for. Plus it gets its own accompanying picture on the site. ๐Ÿ™‚

Accompanying picture for my story.

Accompanying picture for my story.

It’s exciting that anyone ever wants to read anything I write. It’s exciting that they would want to publish it on their site to share with others. But there’s something incredible about the fact that somebody, somewhere, is excited enough by my story to actually give me money for it.

I won’t be going shopping for a yacht any time soon but I will definitely be purchasing a bottle of bubbly.

About B Lee Draper

Teacher, uni student, aspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First Ever Story Sale

  1. Yvonne Mes says:

    Congratulations on your first paid story! You shouldn’t be surprised that people want to read you stories and pay for them, you have worked hard for it and your writing deserves it! You could always buy yourself a mini yacht, the kind that fits in the bathtub ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. B Lee Draper says:

    Haha. Cheers, Yvonne. A plastic tugboat might fit the bill. It’s not as exciting as your first sale though! I can’t wait to read it when The School Mag comes out. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. V. Gingerich says:

    I love that you’re seeing results for all your hard work! And the story is fab! And the illustration. Oh, and the check, of course. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Write on!

Leave a Reply

