Writing Inspiration

As I work on my novel, there is lots of advice I try to keep in mind, as well as many quotes that inspire me & keep my fingers tap-tap-tapping away. None works quite so well as this though:

 


My current goal is to write one chapter per day – around 1000 words for an MG novel – come hell or high water. Some days those chapters flow like a raging torrent while other days it’s more akin to a leaky faucet. A couple of days I’ve written nothing only to have a sudden ‘unblocking’ where I’ll write several chapters in one sitting.

The ‘rules’ I’ve been following for the last week:

  1. Write every day. When in doubt refer to above picture (my desktop background).
  2. As above, aim for one chapter per day. Each chapter to be roughly 1000 words.
  3. Do not use the evil Backspace button. No editing. Add in footnotes if needed & keep going.
  4. Do not re-read before beginning the day’s chapter. Refer to glossary instead as needed.
  5. Update glossary at the end of each day’s writing session.
  6. Don’t forget to refer to rule one.

It’s now day eight and I’m about to begin work on chapter eight. I haven’t rigidly kept to this formula but thus far it seems to work pretty well and suit my pace. Perhaps this Work in Progress will, one day, be a little more than just the letters W, I and P. Fingers crossed.

About B Lee Draper

Teacher, uni student, aspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Inspiration

  1. Love it. Can't wait to see how your writing adventure plays out. Keep posting and I'll keep reading.

  2. B Lee Draper says:

    Thank you for all your fab information & inspiration Dave. 🙂

  3. Yvonne Mes says:

    Congrats on your new blog, it looks fabulous. I love the Jodi Picoult quote, so true!

  4. B Lee Draper says:

    Thanks Yvonne. I hope to emulate your fabulous blog one day. Definitely a very accurate quote. 🙂

Leave a Reply

