Academic Writing

Writing and writing academically are two different kettles of fish it seems.  I’m no Shakespeare but I’ve always enjoyed writing and can produce a general piece of writing that makes some sort of sense….or so I’ve always thought.  Sitting down to write a rationale and literature review for my research project is making me rethink this basic belief however.

My writing comes from my head and my heart which isn’t what is desired (primarily) in the world of research.  They want evidence that you’ve reviewed relevant literature; sure, they want you to critically review what you’ve read but everything you write needs to be based on something else.  It really is a knack.  It’s a knack, I’m beginning to believe, that is beyond my grasp.

After I get this thing written I’ll post some examples that illustrate my points….and my struggles.  Until it’s submitted though I’ll continue to wage warfare with my keyboard and re-read every sentence twenty times while inserting non-stop references and quotations.  Earl Grey Tea is all that’s keeping me sane at this stage.

Tea. Earl Grey. Hot.

About B Lee Draper

Teacher, uni student, aspiring writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

